I Need Aloe……..

Queen Beauty Nails at 4 East 8th Street is not fit for a queen. The waxing room is a partition room, the walls do not reach the ceiling. I understand that but what I don’t get is the door is a glass paned door, with a curtain covering the glass. If the door was original to the place I could see that. But if you’re going to build a room for the purpose of waxing you think you’d pick a solid door.
There is a very Bob Ross painting on the wall & I noticed the light had a energy saving bulb. At least the environment was a priority to them if my vagina was not. 
She wanted to stay in the room while I undressed & I said no. She said it was ok and I said it was not ok. 
When she came back to get on with the job-and to mention it no gloves were worn yet again-she first started with the wand. I never run into this, using the wand for a Brazilian wax. And I thought, oh great, here comes an infection. Well, I doubt any bacteria could live in that wax. It was some of the hottest wax I have ever experienced. Wax from the fires of Mount Doom.  I didn’t cringe once over a pull (fabric strips were used FYI) but I cringed many times over my scalding flesh. At one point through the Beyonce & Rihanna playing my waxer had a conversation in Korean through the door & I can only imagine she was bragging about the torture going on in here.
Wooden sticks were used for the wax as she worked her way down & she only asked me to hold once, when I was flipped over (face flat down on table position). The flip over was included by the way. She worked quickly and did a little plucking at the end followed by a quick oil rub down & a liberal application of baby powder. However, when I looked down at my queen, there was more hair left than should be. I wonder why she felt her tweezing job was done & what was there was satisfactory. Actually, I guess that’s just what it was-satisfactory. Not great. Not royalty material.
Without tip it came to $31 & change.  Oh well. I’ve paid more for worse. Maybe they could change their name to Duchess Beauty & I’ll let them slide.

Update: As of June 2017 this place is now closed

About touchmygirl

I got really into the idea of getting a brazilian wax. With much trepidation, I went for it. I was instantly hooked. It became a must do on my beauty regiment. I noticed the person doing the wax would often say some pretty strange things. Then came the thought, I wonder what the experience would be like in other venues. A whole new world of odd remarks was born. I also learned the pros and cons of different places, price fluctuations, and the skill level of people. This is the blog of a brazilian waxee guinea pig.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

